October 28, 2026
Top-Rated 7 GPS Trackers for ATVs, UTVs and Snowmobiles
The National Insurance Crime Bureau’s analysis of 2025 data found that ATVs had the lowest recovery rate of any recreational vehicle it…
By GPS Tracking
8 min read
- 1 Quick comparison
- 2 What a cold season and a shed full of snow do to a tracker
- 3 1. Logistimatics Protect Plus: a magnet, an operating range from minus 22 degrees and a plan printed on the page
- 4 2. LandAirSea 54: the fastest updates on this list
- 5 3. Monimoto: a key fob that disarms the tracker when you ride
The National Insurance Crime Bureau's analysis of 2025 data found that ATVs had the lowest recovery rate of any recreational vehicle it tracks: only 23 percent of the 11,050 ATVs reported stolen were recovered, as reported by Carrier Management. The same report estimates that 63 percent of all recreational vehicles stolen in 2025 remain unrecovered.
Those numbers describe machines that sit in sheds, on trailers and behind barns, often with no ignition lock worth the name. A GPS tracker for ATV, UTV and snowmobile use has to solve a narrower problem than a car tracker does. It has to survive mud and snow, run for months on a battery while the machine is parked, and keep reporting where a phone has no signal.
Quick comparison
The best GPS tracker for ATV riders depends on four columns: battery at a stated interval, subscription, price and where you ride.
Logistimatics Protect Plus Best for: One or two machines, with a magnet and a wide temperature range. Battery at a stated interval: About 2 to 3 weeks (reporting every 30 seconds while moving) to about 1.5 years (long schedules). Subscription: Required: $12.50/mo billed annually, or $19.99/mo. Price: From $59.99.
LandAirSea 54 Best for: A magnetic unit with the fastest update speed. Battery at a stated interval: 1 to 3 weeks at 3 second to 3 minute updates, up to 6 months in Low Power Mode. Subscription: Required from $19.95/mo. Price: $29.95.
Monimoto 9 Best for: A hidden, rechargeable unit with a key fob. Battery at a stated interval: Up to 12 months per charge, interval not stated. Subscription: $49 a year, 2 months free. Price: $179.
Tracki Pro and Max Best for: The lowest entry price. Battery at a stated interval: Pro up to 12 months per charge, interval not stated. Subscription: Bundles of 6, 12 or 24 months. Price: $18.82 (Pro).
SPOT Trace Best for: Backcountry riding with no cell coverage. Battery at a stated interval: Four AAA lithium cells, intervals of 2.5 to 60 minutes. Subscription: Basic plan $11.95/mo on a 12 month term. Price: not published.
Spytec Atlas XL Best for: A parked machine checked once a day. Battery at a stated interval: Up to 365 days per charge at once-daily updates. Subscription: $17.95/mo billed annually, tracker included. Price: not published.
GPX Intelligence AssetTrack Mini Best for: An outfitter or dealer with ten or more machines. Battery at a stated interval: Up to 5 years at one report per day. Subscription: not published. Price: not published.
Three price cells are blank. SPOT and Spytec publish plan prices but no device price on the pages read, and GPX Intelligence publishes no price at all. Nothing here has been filled in from memory.
What a cold season and a shed full of snow do to a tracker
Cold is the first problem, and the manufacturers say so themselves. LandAirSea states that battery life depends on temperature, among other factors, and will not guarantee the figure on the box. A battery quoted at six months in Low Power Mode delivers less on a frozen lake in January, so read the operating range and the reporting interval before the headline number.
Storage is the second. An ATV that sits from November to April needs a tracker that wakes on movement and otherwise reports rarely, because every report spends the battery. Protect Plus lists fixed schedules of every hour, 6 hours or 24 hours, and the manufacturer's own battery range runs from about 2 to 3 weeks to about 1.5 years depending on the mode you choose.
Coverage is the third. A cellular tracker reports only where a tower reaches, and a stolen machine on a back trail leaves coverage within the hour. Satellite trackers close that gap and cost more per month. Mounting finishes the list: a magnet holds on a steel frame, but a snowmobile with plastic panels and an aluminium tunnel gives a magnet little to grip, so plan a hidden zip-tied position.
1. Logistimatics Protect Plus: a magnet, an operating range from minus 22 degrees and a plan printed on the page
Logistimatics sells the Protect Plus from $59.99, and the product page lists a 5,200 mAh rechargeable battery, an IP67 rating, an integrated magnetic mount and an operating range of minus 22 to 176 degrees Fahrenheit. The unit measures 4.3 by 2.7 by 1.0 inches and weighs 233 grams, so it hides under a seat or behind a panel.
A subscription is required with every tracker: $12.50 a month billed annually, which is $149.99 a year, or $19.99 a month billed monthly. Reporting is set by you: every 30 seconds when moving and every hour when stationary, or fixed schedules every 1, 6 or 24 hours. Tamper alerts are included. The page puts battery life between about 2 to 3 weeks and about 1.5 years, depending on the mode and the movement.
Pros:
- An operating range down to minus 22 degrees Fahrenheit, which covers a northern winter shed.
- A built-in magnet and IP67 rating, so a quad that gets hosed down after every ride is covered.
- One flat plan price printed on the page, with no contract and cancellation at any time.
- Reporting modes from 30 seconds while moving to once every 24 hours, set from the app.
- Tamper alerts that tell you when somebody pulls the unit off the frame.
2. LandAirSea 54: the fastest updates on this list
LandAirSea lists the 54 at $29.95 and names ATVs, golf carts and recreational vehicles on the product page. It is IP67 rated, has a built-in magnet, measures 2.275 by 0.945 inches and reports as fast as every 3 seconds. The page puts battery life at 1 to 3 weeks at 3 second to 3 minute updates and up to 6 months in Low Power Mode.
Plans are required and start at $19.95 a month, with one year of historical playback included. The page adds that LandAirSea cannot guarantee battery length, which is the honest way to say that temperature, signal and update interval change the figure.
Pros: the smallest unit here, fast updates for a live chase, and a low device price.
Cons: 1 to 3 weeks per charge at usable intervals means a cable and a regular visit, which does not suit a machine parked since autumn.
3. Monimoto: a key fob that disarms the tracker when you ride
Monimoto builds an anti-theft tracker around a key fob. When the fob is near, the tracker disarms. When the machine moves without it, the app alerts you. The Monimoto 9 is $179, rechargeable by USB-C, rated IP68 and runs on LTE-M with an international eSIM. The page says the 900 mAh battery lasts up to 12 months per charge and gives no reporting interval.
The Monimoto 7 is $129 on two replaceable AA lithium cells with up to 24 months of battery (reporting interval not stated), an IP65 rating and LTE-M plus 2G. Both need a $49 a year subscription, with two months included.
Pros: a key fob that stops false alarms when you ride, an IP68 rating on the 9, and a long battery claim.
Cons: both battery claims come without an interval, the device price is the highest on the list, and the IP65 on the 7 is the weakest water rating here.
4. Tracki: the lowest entry price
Tracki lists the Pro at $18.82 and the Max at $17.95 on the pages read. The Pro carries a 10,000 mAh battery that the page says lasts up to 12 months on a single charge, with no reporting interval given, plus 4G and 3G or 2G fallback, Wi-Fi and an accelerometer. The Max has a 1,950 mAh rechargeable battery, a heavy-duty magnet and a battery life that the page says varies with tracking frequency.
Device and service are sold as bundles of 6, 12 and 24 months, so the sticker price is only the start.
Pros: the cheapest hardware here and a rugged Pro with a very large battery.
Cons: the 12 month figure carries no interval, the Max publishes no battery number, and a prepaid window that lapses stops the service.
5. SPOT Trace: for the rider who leaves cell coverage
SPOT reports over the Globalstar satellite network, so it works anywhere with a clear view of the sky. The Trace runs on four AAA lithium cells, lets you pick 2.5, 5, 10, 30 or 60 minute tracking intervals, sends a text or email when its vibration sensor detects movement and operates from minus 22 to 140 degrees Fahrenheit.
The Basic plan is $11.95 a month on a 12 month term, a 2.5 minute tracking add-on is $4.95 a month, and a Flex plan at $14.95 a month suits seasonal use. The Trace has no SOS function, which the page states directly.
Pros: coverage where no tower reaches, replaceable AAA cells and a seasonal plan for a machine used four months a year.
Cons: slower position updates than a cellular unit, no published device price on the page read, and no battery-life figure on the product page itself.
6. Spytec: a tracker that ships free with the plan
Spytec now sells the Atlas Mini, Atlas and Atlas XL, and its product page does not name the older GL300. The Atlas XL is the one to read for a parked machine: up to 365 days per charge at once-daily updates, and 48 days if it moves an hour a day with updates every minute. It costs $17.95 a month billed annually, or $215.40 a year, with the tracker included, or $24.95 monthly.
Pros: no hardware cost with the plan, and a published battery table that names its intervals.
Cons: the 365 day figure holds only at one update a day, and the Atlas XL is the largest of the three at 3.4 inches.
7. GPX Intelligence: for the outfitter or dealer with a rack of machines
GPX Intelligence sells the AssetTrack Mini for trailers, generators, containers and equipment. It carries a magnetic IP67 case, an anti-tamper sensor and up to 5 years of battery at one GPS report per day on a replaceable battery. A switch from the platform sets a fresh GPS fix every 5 minutes when a machine goes missing, and GPX Intelligence reports that most customers recover stolen assets in under 8 hours.
Pros: a replaceable battery rated for years at one daily report, a recovery mode and fleet-level reporting.
Cons: built for ten or more machines rather than one quad, and no price is published. A single-machine owner is better served by entries 1 to 6.
Match the tracker to the season you ride in
Choosing a GPS tracker for ATV storage starts with how long the machine sits. A UTV parked from November to April wants a long schedule and a wide temperature range, so Protect Plus on a 24 hour schedule or Atlas XL at once-daily updates both fit. A quad that gets ridden every weekend wants fast updates for a chase, which points to LandAirSea.
Next, decide whether you ride outside cell coverage. If your trails sit beyond a tower, add the SPOT Trace or accept that the cellular units go quiet there. Then count the monthly cost. Satellite is $11.95 on Basic, and most cellular plans start between $12.50 and $19.95 a month on an annual plan.
For one machine or two, Logistimatics Protect Plus lists its price, its operating range and its plan on one page, which settles most of this before you order.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Do ATV and snowmobile trackers work in the cold?
They work inside their operating range. Protect Plus lists minus 22 to 176 degrees Fahrenheit and the SPOT Trace minus 22 to 140. Battery life shortens in the cold, so budget below the headline figure and choose a long reporting schedule for winter storage.
Does a tracker for an ATV need cell coverage?
Cellular trackers such as Protect Plus, LandAirSea, Monimoto and Tracki report only where a tower reaches. The SPOT Trace uses the Globalstar satellite network and reports anywhere with a view of the sky, at the cost of slower updates.
Can I leave a tracker on a machine stored all winter?
Yes, if you pick a slow schedule. Protect Plus gives about 1.5 years at its longest schedules, and Atlas XL gives up to 365 days at once-daily updates. A tracker on 30 second updates empties in weeks, so drop the interval before you park the machine.
Is a subscription required?
For every cellular GPS tracker for ATV use here, yes. Logistimatics charges $12.50 a month billed annually or $19.99 monthly, LandAirSea starts at $19.95, Monimoto is $49 a year and Spytec bundles the tracker with its plan. SPOT charges $11.95 a month on its Basic plan.
Disclosure: the author works with GPX Intelligence and Logistimatics, both covered here. Every other product was assessed from its own published material, with the same pros and cons treatment.